U.S. is Expanding Availability of “Global Entry” at its Airports

U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) announced that “Global Entry” enrollment centers are now open and available at additional international U.S. airports.

“Global Entry” is an initiative to permit registered U.S. citizens and lawful permanent residents to use a self-service kiosk upon returning to the United States from international travel.

The “Global Entry” kiosks allow travelers to bypass the regular passport inspection / immigration control lines, by “checking in” with their U.S. passport or Alien Resident Card into a reader. The kiosk’s on-screen instructions will then prompt users to provide digital fingerprints. In addition, users will be prompted to answer customs- and immigration-related questions via the kiosk’s touch-screen. A transaction receipt will be produced and printed by the kiosk upon completion, which the traveler then must present to CBP officers prior to leaving the inspection area.

Customs and Immigration officials are providing this program to “low-risk international air travelers to expedite the process of returning to the U.S.”

“Global Entry” is now available at the following international U.S. airports:

  • Los Angeles International,
  • Atlanta Hartsfield-Jackson International,
  • Chicago O’Hare International,
  • Miami International,
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport,
  • George Bush Intercontinental in Houston,
  • Washington Dulles International Airport.

Global Entry is currently only open to U.S. citizens or lawful permanent residents. For more information on this or other CBP trusted traveler programs, or for an application to enroll in the Global Entry pilot program, please visit GlobalEntry.gov.

2 thoughts on “U.S. is Expanding Availability of “Global Entry” at its Airports

  1. Pingback: George Bush On Best Political Blogs » US is Expanding Availability of “Global Entry” at its Airports

  2. pberger

    I have read that 13 airports are going to be included in the Global Entry program. When will the additional 6 be added and which airports are they?

Leave a Reply